Iowa Association of Naturalists 2006 Annual Report

Executive Committee (ExCom)

President: Heather Freidhof

Vice President: Nicole Moestchen

Treasurer: Greg Wolf Secretary: Karen Phelps

Workshop Coordinator: Katie Hammond

Membership: 26 - 2006 members, 95 - 2007 members, 4 - 2008 members, 1 student member

and 16 Honorary Members = 142 members

Meetings:

<u>Spring Workshop</u>: Held in conjunction with NAI Region 5 in Dubuque - April 5-9, 2006 **Off-Site Sessions:** Mississippi River Eco Cruise, Iowa Underground (Caves), Effigy Mounds Cultural & Historical Tour, Discover Iowa Birds, Ice Age Refuge Tour & Dubuque City Tour **Featured:** Approximately 26 concurrent sessions and a behind the scenes tour of the Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium. Iowa naturalists had the opportunity to show off their state and had a record breaking turnout due to a REAP grant for approximately 108 Iowa naturalists.

Iowa Attendance: 108

Total Attendance: 218 from Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, S. Dakota, N. Dakota &

Nebraska

Summer Workshop: Polk County - August 7-9, 2006

Attendance: CANCELED DUE TO LOW REGISTRATION

Fall Meeting: Swan Lake Conservation Education Center, Carroll County Conservation Board – Nov. 1-3, 2006.

Preworkshop: Pheasant Hunt, S.O.A.R. & Diversity Farms Tour, Whiterock Conservancy **Featured:** Wild Places for a Wild Future (Jim Pease, Keynote), Power Point Presentations, Iowa's Educational Deer Hunt, Traveling Exhibits, Archery in the Schools, Playful Active Recreation Targeted for You, Growing in the Garden, Project AWARE & CLEAN mini-grants, IAN Membership Survey, Iowa Environmental Council, Goats on the Prairie, Nature Camps to Wilderness Trips, Craft Swap, and Iowa DNR Fire Program & Fuel Moisture Monitoring Project **Attendance:** 77

The Ex Com met four times this year: January 26, April 6, August 2 & November 1

Committees

Nine standing committees were in existence in 2006. A Traveling Exhibits committee is in the process of being developed. Seventeen administrative tasks were the responsibility of the ExCom during 2006.

Promotions Fundraising

Strategic Planning Committee Junior Naturalist Joe Halbur Memorial Scholarship Web Page Professional Development
Professional Development
Scholarships
Mentoring
ICEC/IAN Awards

Administrative Tasks

The following are the administrative tasks that were the responsibility of the ExCom during 2006

Archive/Records Election Committee

DNR Liaison – Jacklyn Gautsch
NAI Liaison – Amy Yoakum

Guide to Interpretive Services
Policy and Procedure Manual

ICEC Liaison – Pam Holz Grant Program

IACCBE – Angela Bries Awards and Recognition

IEC Liaison – Gail Barels Newsletter

REAP/CEP – Linda Zaletel Master Conservationist

Strategic Plan (survey) IAN Listserve

Changes in membership

2006 Highlights

Professional Development

The deadline for submission was December 31. Recognition took place at the April 2006 business meeting. The following were certified: Heidi Anderson, Molly Caldwell, Katie Cantu, Dana Dettmer, Rochelle Ebel, Laura Elfers, Sunday Ford, Bradley H. Freidhof, Heather Freidhof, Christina Groen, Katie Hammond, Pamela Holz, Kristi Karwal-Clark, Jerry Keys, Barbara McKinstry, Jody Moats, Michele Olson, Miriam Patton, Kim Perlstein-Rowley, Karen Phelps, Diane Pixler, Tina Popson, Heidi Reams, Victoria Shamblen, Ginger Vietor, Greg Wolf, Amy Yoakum, Todd VonEhwegen and Linda Zaletel.

Julie Brazell, Laura DeCook, Charlene Elyea, Mark Roberts were 5-year recipients. Dawn Chapman was a 10-year recipient.

Scholarships

Scholarships were given to Karen Phelps – Benton County, Katie Hammond – Louisa County and Kim Perlstein for NAI Region V workshop in Dubuque and Greg Wolf received a \$75 scholarship for Spring IAN.

Awards Program

The Iowa Association of Naturalists (IAN) and the Iowa Conservation Education Council (ICEC) will present the following 2006 Environmental Education Excellence Awards:

Aldo Leopold Environmental Education Award:

No submissions

Chris Holt Youth Environmental Education Award:

No submissions

Bohumil Shimek Environmental Educator Award:

No submissions

Outstanding County Conservation Board EE Program (pop. >35,000):

Cerro Gordo County Conservation Board

Outstanding County Conservation Board EE Program (pop. <35,000):

Louisa County Conservation Board

Ada Hayden Conservation Education Award:

No submissions

"Ding" Darling Environmental Education Award:

Dallas County Conservation Department's Prairie Awakening Celebration

IAN Mentoring Program

Mentees are directed to the IAN website to get all the information about this program. There is now a box to check on the workshop registration form to request a mentor. This helps identify those new naturalists needing a mentor.

Several regional groups of IAN members continue to meet at mini-workshops. Veteran members can share ideas and mentor new members. Heather Freidhof stepped down as chair but will remain on the committee. Kelly Sonnichsen will be the new chair.

| <u>Mentee</u> | <u>Mentor</u> |
|------------------------------|---------------------------------------|
| John Laird – Hamilton Co. | Wes Wiese – Hardin Co. |
| Hilary Johnson- Jackson Co. | Gail Barels – Linn Co. |
| Emily Vant Hul – Madison Co. | Heidi Anderson – Polk Co. |
| | and Dallas Co. Conservation employees |
| Jessica Stienes- Clinton Co. | Ann Burns – Jackson Co. |
| Joel Vinson – Franklin Co. | Todd VonEhwegen – Cerro Gordo Co. |

Master Conservationist

IAN continues to sponsor the Master Conservationist Program. The cost paid out covers the IAN booklets provided to each participant. Des Moines County Extension, Polk County Extension, Iowa County Extension, Johnson County Extension, Washington County Extension and Black Hawk County Extension were awarded \$250 each. The total monies spent in 2006 were \$1000. \$750 remains in this fund for approximately 3 more workshops.

Junior Naturalist Program

Turtle patches were available for 2006. Monies brought in were able to cover current year cost and it is recommended to return the budget to \$500.

Joe Halbur Scholarship

As of Dec. 8, 2006 the amount in the Joe Halbur Scholarship was \$5,166.28. Naturalist t-shirts were sold to raise money for the fund. The scholarship amount awarded is \$500. Adam Vatel, of Hampton, was selected as this year's recipient.

Newsletter

Three newsletters were produced and distributed via email. The newsletter is also online. A few

newsletters are delivered by mail.

Grants

Clinton County Conservation Board received a grant of \$250 to help fund their earth day at the Quad Cities Expo Center. Reba Reddick from Cedar County Conservation Board was awarded \$250 for the purchase of atl-atls and other Native American artifacts to initiate a new program.

IAN Web Page

The IAN web page is located at www.ianpage.20m.com. The web page includes many sections such as the IAN ExCom & Standing Committees, IAN's newsletter, upcoming workshops, professional standards, sponsored programs, publications, membership, job announcements and links. The web page includes the *Guide to Interpretive Services*, how to apply for an IAN grant, the IAN/ICEC Award Nomination Form, the Joe Halbur Scholarship application, the Junior Naturalist brochure, information about the mentoring program, the professional development form, IAN scholarship information and an application. Updates were made throughout 2006. We continue to use first names in pictures for personal safety reasons.

Strategic Planning Committee

Members are Aaron Hershberger, Brad Freidhof, Beth Waage, Lewis Major and Linda Zaletel. The first meeting was held in July 2005. It was decided to produce a survey to ask the membership to define new goals and objectives for the future of IAN. The survey was taken by all participants of the fall 2006 workshop. A summary is being written up and will be ready by February 2007.

Fund Raising

A total of \$1,115 was raised at the 2006 fall auction.