IAN Business Meeting

Thursday, March 17, 2005 Nature Center @ Johnson County Conservation Board

- I. **Call to order** by Linda Zaletel at 5:46.
- **II. Secretary's Report** Heather Freidhof

A. Minutes of the last meeting were distributed. Aaron Hershberger motioned to approve. Brad Freidhof seconded the motion. MCU

- III. Treasurer's Report Greg Wolf
 - A. <u>Financial Report</u>: \$8,249.44 savings, \$2,253.59 checking, \$5,431.56 Joe Halbur Scholarship, \$8,000 in a cd that will come due by Feb. 2007 Meggan Daniels motioned to approve the treasurer's report. Dana Dettmer seconded the motion. MCU
 - B. <u>Membership Report</u> 146 members, 18 reminders to renew were sent out via postcards.

IV. Committee Reports

- A. Promotions
 - 1. <u>Fundraising</u> Katie Dalton would like to step down. She is requesting a new chairperson. The committee is doing a Bug for a Buck promotion as well as raffling off a buffalo trunk during this spring workshop.
 - 2. <u>Joe Halbur Scholarship</u> Maria Koschmeder Buffalo Trunk money will go toward the scholarship. 10 – 11 applicants applied for the scholarship.
- B. Professional Development (moved to action/discussion items to allow 5 minutes)
 - 1. <u>Awards</u> Miriam Patton presented awards and 5 yr. (**) plaques to:

Heidi Anderson
Julie Brazell
Ann Burns
Katie Cantu
Dawn Chapman
Katie Dalton **
Laura DeCook

Jerry Keys
Maria Koschmeder
Theresa Kruid **
Jody Moats
Nicole Moestchen
Michele Olson
Miriam Patton

Kathy Dice Kim Perlstein-Rowley Rochelle Ebel ** Karen Phelps

Charlene Elyea
Anita Fisher **
Sunday Ford **
Brad Freidhof **
Heather Freidhof

Diane Pixler
Tina Popson
Todd VonEhwegen
Greg Wolf **
Amy Yoakum **

Christina Groen

Linda Zaletel – 10 yrs.

Kristi Karwal-Clark

C. <u>ICEC/IAN Awards</u> – (moved to action/discussion items to allow 5 minutes) Heidi Anderson announced winners. Linda presented two awards to Clinton County Conservation Board and Polk County Conservation Board. Other awards have already been presented at different events.

Aldo Leopold Environmental Education Award:

Robert Rye, Iowa Department of Transportation

Chris Holt Youth Environmental Education Award:

Clinton Co. Conservation Board & Clinton Co. Area Solid Waste Agency Bohumil Shimek Environmental Educator Award:

Pamela Holz, Washington County Conservation Board Naturalist

Outstanding County Conservation Board EE Program (pop. >35,000):

Linn County Conservation Board

Outstanding County Conservation Board EE Program (pop. <35,000):

Buchanan County Conservation Board

Ada Hayden Conservation Education Award:

Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation

"Ding" Darling Environmental Education Award:

Polk County Conservation Board

D. Administrative Report (3 minutes each)

- i. <u>IAN Grants</u> District 3 submitted by Miriam Patton. The amount given was \$500 for a touchy/feely box and buzzboard to be used at the Clay County Fair.
- ii. NAI Liaison Amy Yoakum

Region V NAI workshop at Starved Rock State Park will be held March 30 – April 3. Darrin Siefken is the 2006 workshop coordinator for Region V NAI in Dubuque.

- iii. <u>DNR Liaison</u> Jacklyn Neely spoke about Outdoor Journey.
- iv. ISU Extension Liaison Darrin Siefken
- v. IACCBE Rep. Angela Bries; no report
- vi. <u>IEC</u> Gail Barels; There is an upcoming event at Wesley Woods in Indianola.

vii. <u>Upcoming Workshops</u>

- 1. Summer 2005 Harrison, Shelby and Audubon Counties will host on August 8 –10. Activities will include Loess Hills, DeSoto Bend, Dineson Prairie and free cabin accomodations. The workshop will cost \$40.
- 2. Fall 2005 (Nov. 16-18) Pottawattamie County Conservation
- 3. Spring 2006 (April 5 9) NAI Region V in Dubuque at the Mississippi River Museum & Aquarium
- 4. Fall 2006 Carroll
- 5. Summer 2006 Polk County
- 6. Fall 2007 Jackson County
- viii. Web Page Mark Roberts has done some updates. They include eliminating the sign in, committee updates as they come in (needs Jr. Nat) and he developed a yearly report on usage.
 - 1. Thanks to Pam for working on the language on the what you get with membership page.

ix. REAP-CEP

- 1. New sections on application form
- 2. Amy Yoakum volunteered to help write a REAP grant for NAI Region V so that more IAN members could attend next spring.

- x. <u>Master Conservationists</u> \$2500 is available to supply IAN booklets.
- xi. <u>Guide to Interpretive Services</u> Kelly has progressed but it is not quite complete.

C. Action/Discussion Items (5 minutes each)

- i. <u>Election</u> need three volunteers for Election committee; Brad Freidhof, Beth Waage and Aaron Hershberger volunteered. They will be in charge of nominating people, counting ballots and handing out absentee ballots.
- ii. IAN Newsletter
 - 1. Next deadline is April 30, 2005
- iii. <u>Strategic Plan</u> suggestions included programs for "old naturalists" and providing different themed topics during workshop.
- iv. <u>Awards</u> Kelly Sonnichsen awarded Brad Freidhof for hosting. Mark Roberts received an award of recognition for his continuing work on the website.
- v. <u>Carpooling Efficiency Award</u> went to Amy Yoakum, Story County with 6 in the vehicle.
- vi. Mentoring Heather Freidhof; New members were asked to place a sticker on someone who introduced themselves. Several members had stickers but we can do better! New mentor pairs will be developed soon.
- vii. Other Meggan Daniels spoke about a student ocean conference they were hosting. Todd VonEhwegen spoke about the Midwest EE conference to be held July 20 23 in Mason City. There are \$100 scholarships available but deadline is May 1. Joel VanRoekel had Jr. Naturalist fox patches available. He will bill. Kathy Cuddeback provided IA Lyme Disease handouts for anyone to take.
- VI. Adjourn; Ann Burns moved to adjourn at 6:35. Mark Wagner seconded it. MCU.